Before a portrait shoot, I point my clients to a page on my website with preparation tips. One tip is to wear solid colors to avoid distracting viewers from your face. This client said he couldn’t comply because he doesn’t own a solid shirt. His personal signature is to wear colorful rainbow patterns. I explained that the tips are just best practices, and he’s free to do as he pleases. His portrait should convey his personality, and if his wardrobe is an important part of that, then he should celebrate it.

As I expected, the shoot was as fun as my client was colorful. We made an immediate connection, my client felt comfortable expressing himself in front of the camera, and we got results we’re both pleased with.

Mark Aaron Polger

161104_6184_barnett

Alan Barnett, NYC portrait photography

Leave a Reply

