Church Musician Portraits

130421_8777_barnett

In my previous post, I shared photos I made during a Sunday service at Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church and formal portraits of the choir immediately afterwards. When I finished the choir photos, I stayed to make individual portraits of the church musicians that will be used on the church’s website.

The photography of the service differed from the portrait photography in terms of the equipment I’d need, and I wanted to travel as light as possible. In addition, time was tight, so I couldn’t afford to arrange complicated lighting setups for each portrait. I achieved the lighting with a single Speedlite and a reflector. My client served as what we photographers like to call a “voice activated light stand.” He held the reflector and I instructed him where to stand and how to angle it. I shot at a relatively slow shutter speed to combine my strobe with ambient light so the backgrounds didn’t go too dark.

130421_8727_barnett

130421_8738_barnett

130421_8759_barnett

130421_8766_barnett

130421_8825_barnett

130421_8830_barnett

 

2 thoughts on “Church Musician Portraits

Leave a Reply

