Global Rainbow over Manhattan

121127_4837_barnett

On November 27, I was walking home after dark. Upon turning a corner off a side street on onto Sixth Avenue, I encountered an incredible laser rainbow reaching into the sky. It was coming from the west, not far from where I was going, so I walked in its direction, shooting photos and being stopped by strangers asking if knew what it was. I did not. The lights led me to The Standard hotel, so I learned where they originated, but not their purpose. An internet search that night didn’t reveal anything.

A few days later I found an article in the Huffington Post describing “Global Rainbow,” Yvette Mattern‘s laser installation that beams a rainbow toward the areas hardest hit by Hurricane Sandy.

121127_4816_barnett

121127_4819_barnett

Leave a Reply

