Roman Holiday in Bryant Park

On Monday evenings in the summer, Bryant Park is taken over by the HBO Bryant Park Summer Film Festival. I was invited to the screening of Roman Holiday with a group of friends for a birthday celebration. Of course I brought my camera. The park was jammed with wall-to-wall people, and there were some great photo opportunities from where I sat (I didn’t even try to move around the park, it was so packed). There was plenty of time before sunset to shoot wide with my 16-35 mm lens, and as dusk approached all the light came from artificial sources, mostly from high atop the skyscrapers beaming down on the park. When the movie started, those lights were extinguished, and I switched to my 50 mm f/1.4 lens for a few shots in the dark before putting my camera away and enjoying the show.

Leave a Reply

