Asbury Park after Dark

Asbury Park holds bonfires on the beach every Friday at 8:00 p.m. during summer and early autumn. I made it to my first one at the end of June hoping for a great photo opportunity. It didn’t turn out so great. The bonfire wasn’t heavily attended, possibly because the day hadn’t yet cooled off from a high close to 100 degrees. Getting near the warmth of a raging fire is the last thing you want to do to end a day like that. So I snapped a few photos while taking mental notes of what I’d like to try if I return in the fall, which is a perfect time for a bonfire on the beach. I met some friends for a cold beer on the boardwalk and made the photo below from our table at the restaurant. I love the contrast between the people lit up against the solid black night sky.

Leave a Reply

