Ephrata Cloister Welcomes the Pennsylvania Environment Ride

One of the highlights of the second day of the Pennsylvania Environment Ride was a rest stop at the Ephrata Cloister. After snacking and refilling water bottles, riders were invited on a short tour before returning to the road. The tour was a fascinating look into the life of Conrad Beissel and the workings of one of America’s earliest religious communities.

I wish I knew what was to come on the tour, because while I had the perfect lenses, they were locked in the car with my camera bag. After a video presentation in the visitor center, we were ushered into the historic buildings. Our guide asked us not to use flash if possible. It was tempting to determine that it wasn’t possible, but I decided to comply out of respect for the cloister and not to distract the riders who wanted to enjoy the tour. Since the perfect lenses to shoot inside the tiny, dark rooms (16-35 mm f/2.8 and 50 mm f/1.4) were in the car, I did the best I could with the lenses I had with me. Mostly I used my 24-105 mm f/4 lens. It’s my favorite all-purpose lens, and at a very high ISO and my propping the camera on walls and other architectural structures to substitute for a tripod, I got some decent images.

Read the first post in the series: Hit the Road With the Pennsylvania Environment Ride.
Read the second post in the series: Faces of the Pennsylvania Environment Ride.
Read the fourth post in the series: You Don’t Need a Desert to Find an Oasis.
Read the fifth post in the series: Personalities of the Pennsylvania Environment Ride.
Read the sixth post in the series: Pennsylvania Environmental Council Celebrates a Successful Fundraising Ride.

7 thoughts on “Ephrata Cloister Welcomes the Pennsylvania Environment Ride

    • Thanks for the compliment. And keep up the good work with your photography. I started photography as a hobby, too, and now I’m working professionally. It takes a lot of time and hard work, but keep at it and you’ll make it. The first step is to think like the photographer you want to become, so consider not passing your work off as amateur. Present your work on your blog without prejudging it for your followers. Good luck! I look forward to seeing your progress.

Leave a Reply

