Faces of the Pennsylvania Environment Ride

This is the second in a six-part series on photographing the Pennsylvania Environment Ride. In the first post, I gave an overview of the event. Here I focus on my portraits of the riders. The website and print materials that advertise the event feature testimonials from the riders and crew. It was important to get portraits of everyone in case their testimonial is used. I concentrated on this in addition to getting shots I thought the participants would enjoy seeing.

The weather was sunny all weekend long, so everyone wore sunglasses. I announced beforehand that I’d prefer people to remove their sunglasses when possible for my photos of them. Most people complied, but some had to be reminded. To one rider I said,”Please take off your sunglasses. The eyes are the window to the soul.” As she removed her glasses she replied,”I’m a lawyer. I don’t have a soul.”

Read the first post in the series: Hit the Road With the Pennsylvania Environment Ride.
Read the third post in the series: Ephrata Cloister Welcomes the Pennsylvania Environment Ride.
Read the fourth post in the series: You Don’t Need a Desert to Find an Oasis.
Read the fifth post in the series: Personalities of the Pennsylvania Environment Ride.
Read the sixth post in the series: Pennsylvania Environmental Council Celebrates a Successful Fundraising Ride.

5 thoughts on “Faces of the Pennsylvania Environment Ride

Leave a Reply

