“Longing for Summer” Exhibition Opening Was a Success

The opening of my solo exhibition, “Longing for Summer” at The Painted Frame in Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey, was a success. It was definitely an artistic success, not so much a financial one, but the exhibition runs to the end of the month. The afternoon featured a poetry reading where Alicia Wirt-Fox read her poems that accompany my photos in a book we made together. You can preview the book and hopefully order a copy by clicking on the Blind Date cover image in the right hand sidebar.

My photo “Divided Lights” (pictured at the end of this post) received a lot of attention. It slept in my archive for a few years since I made it in Red Hook, Brooklyn. Although my book collaborator, Alicia, had high praise for it right away, I let it slip into obscurity because I thought it didn’t fit with much of my other work. Bob O’Connor, owner of The Painted Frame and curator of the exhibition, discovered it and convinced me to show it. He displayed it in a handmade frame crafted from reclaimed wood that fit beautifully with the feeling of the image. I love it when others find something significant in photos that I pass off as not that special.

Leave a Reply

