An Afternoon at Island Beach State Park

Looking to enjoy a beautiful autumn afternoon, my partner and I decided to take a ride to Island Beach State Park. I brought my camera and one lens with me, and as usual, when I started to shoot I wished I had the rest of my equipment with me. I tried to do the best I could with what I had, and it turned out that the challenge wasn’t the lack of equipment but the flat light.

The terrain wasn’t all that interesting, but it could have been beautiful with golden late-afternoon sunlight. So I tried to rescue some of the photos with heavy post processing. I don’t normally do this, but I think the results are okay. The images look almost HDR, but they’re not. I achieved the results in Lightroom by overdoing the clarity, recovery, fill light, and contrast; compensating for the fill light by increasing the blacks; decreasing the vibrance; making adjustments to the individual color luminance channels; and adding a post-crop vignette.

Leave a Reply

