Alan Adds Maternity Portraits to His List of Skills

In the summer of 2010 I photographed a young couple’s wedding. I was delighted that they asked me to work with them again to make maternity portraits. I came to the couple’s home with my cameras, Speedlites, lightstands, and light modifiers. We chose two locations. For the first, we took advantage of late morning light streaming in through some sheer curtains. For the second, we cleared the furniture out of a room and removed the art from a light-colored wall to create a small studio.

The photos worked equally well in color and black-and-white. Ultimately I will leave the choice up to the couple, but here I present them in monochrome as an alternative to my usual color photography.

 

Leave a Reply

