Landscapes, Sunsets, and Puppies

The exhibition “Art@300” opened Saturday evening at Heaven Art & Antiques in Asbury Park. Eight of my photos are in the show. Since there was no concrete theme, I decided to submit landscapes from my summer trip to Maine to test my theory that at galleries like this, what sells is not high-concept art, but pictures of landscapes, sunsets, and puppies. While I don’t yet have conclusive proof, I got more positive feedback on these photos than any of the more “artsy” photos I’ve shown at this gallery. By far the most popular and well received photo was of two Adirondack chairs overlooking an inlet silhouetted on a sunset sky. It’s certainly a nice photo, but definitely a cliche.

Leave a Reply

