Photography Tip: Look Behind You

An assignment for many beginning photography students is one I’ve never forgotten. When concentrating on photographing a particular subject, take the time to look behind you. There’s probably an interesting photo you’d miss by focusing only forward. If not, the 360-degree view of the environment will help you do a better job of photographing what’s in front of you. I’ve made some of my best photos this way, whether or not they were related to what I intended to photograph.

I made all the photos in this post during the Pennsylvania Environment Ride, a three-day charity cycling event. My assignment was to photograph the riders and all the activities associated with the weekend. I spent a lot of time waiting on country roads for the riders to approach, so I put the technique into practice. I didn’t share these photos with my client, but they earned a place in my collection of art photography.

One thought on “Photography Tip: Look Behind You

Leave a Reply

