Pennsylvania Environment Ride

In late June I photographed the inaugural Pennsylvania Environment Ride, a three-day cycling event benefiting the Pennsylvania Environmental Council. Starting in Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, the ride meandered through Amish farms in Lancaster County, crossed into Chester County horse country, and ended in Center City Philadelphia. The small group of dedicated riders was a pleasure to photograph.

Since this first ride was a small one, I didn’t have my own car to follow the riders. Instead, I bounced between crew vehicles that were covering the route. In some cases I left one vehicle to wait for riders to approach, then I was picked up by another one. I shot both from stationary positions along the route and by hanging out of a moving car alongside the riders.

This event turned out to be very special to me. In the close-knit atmosphere of the small group, I made some new friends, and getting to know the riders helped to make the photos much more intimate.

4 thoughts on “Pennsylvania Environment Ride

Leave a Reply

