Carol Service at Plymouth Church

Plymouth Church of the Pilgrims hired me to photograph their carol service on December 19. I know the layout of the church reasonably well by now, so getting around was easy. The difference was that all the other services I had shot were during the day, and the window light makes things a little easier. I normally have not shot in the balcony since it is always empty, but for this service it was packed with worshipers and the light was not very good. Luckily I brought my tripod, so I used it in combination with fast lenses and high ISO for some successful images.

The biggest challenge was at the end of the service when every light was extinguished and the only illumination came from candles held by the choir. Again my tripod came to the rescue, and many bursts of photos guaranteed that at least one from each set was in focus.

Leave a Reply

