Thanksgiving Dinner at the Salvation Army

I’m working on a long-term project to develop a photo documentary with the Asbury Park Fire Department to explore what it means to be a firefighter. I learned that they help out each year at the Salvation Army’s Thanksgiving dinner. I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to photograph them offering community service other than EMS and firefighting. I arrived in time for the start of dinner and found that the firefighters had set up the dining hall and would return afterward to clean up. So I volunteered to stay and photograph the event.

I saw the true meaning of Thanksgiving that day. The event brought so much joy and a good meal to a wonderful community of people. I hope that joy will continue as everyone treasures the photos I shared with them. A few of my favorites are below. If you’d like to see the entire gallery of 150 photos, click here to visit the web gallery I created.

Leave a Reply

