Interior Design Photography

A friend of mine is off to a great start in her new career as an interior designer. I’m about to begin designing her website, but she also needs photos of her work for the online portfolio. She offered me the opportunity to try interior photography on a small project she just completed in a midtown apartment. I think it was a great success. It’s a type of photography I haven’t formally tried before, so I did some research to learn as much theory as I could. Putting it into practice on one room was manageable, and I collected a lot of questions to ask my photography mentors to apply to the next project.

Interior photography is very different from landscapes or portraits, but at the same time many of the technical aspects are similar. The next project is an entire house in Westchester that we’ve allowed two days to shoot. I’ll rent some special lenses so I can adjust the perspective in-camera, and I’ll bring daylight balanced lightbulbs to put in the fixtures to avoid the yellow glow that contrasts with the blue tint of daylight and my strobes.

For the photo above and the one immediately below, I used a new technique, High Dynamic Range photography (HDR), to get a balanced exposure for both the brightest parts of the photo (the window) and the darkest parts (the couch in the foreground). It involved making a bracket of nine exposures from dark to light and merging them with special software. This achieves a tonal range that is impossible to get with a single exposure.

3 thoughts on “Interior Design Photography

Leave a Reply

