Manhattanhenge

Manhattanhenge is a twice-yearly celestial event in which the setting sun lines up perfectly with the Manhattan street grid. It occurred this past Monday, July 12. Unfortunately, the sky was overcast enough to hide the setting sun, so here I share with you two of my photos from last summer’s occurrence on July 12, 2009. I shot from 23rd Street and Fifth Avenue, just in front of the Flatiron Building. I prefer these photos with lens flare, which heightens the drama of the sun setting between the canyon of buildings. For more information on Manhattanhenge, visit the Hayden Planetarium website.

2 thoughts on “Manhattanhenge

    • Glad you like it. Those photos are from a year ago, but from what I can remember, the flare came and went depending on my focal length. I decided on the spot that I liked it, so I continued shooting. The two photos are taken at 73 mm with my 24-105 f/4 lens, with the lens hood on.

      I visited your blog, and I really like it. I’ll visit often. I especially like your weekly challenge. I started looking at the photos in order and got the biggest laugh at “Medicine.” Very clever!

Leave a Reply

