Mazel Tov

In October I volunteered to photograph The Forest Ride, a fundraiser for the Black Rock Forest Consortium. Among the other volunteers was a family who cooked and served all the meals throughout the three-day event. The mom loved the photos of her son, and asked me if I’d enlarge and print a few to display at his upcoming bar mitzvah. Somewhere in the process I was invited to attend, so as my gift I offered to do some photography. Here are some of the portraits I liked.

I began using my flash, but I didn’t like the results I was getting. The ceiling was too high for bounce flash, and the yellow tablecloths were reflecting yellow light. So eventually I removed my flash and switched from my 24-105 mm f/4 lens to my 16-35 mm f/2.8. Shooting wide open at f/2.8 at ISO 3200 got me to about 1/60 of a second, which was adequate. But at 35 mm I had to get really close for the portraits. No one seemed to mind, and I think it helped that I wasn’t using the flash.

Leave a Reply

